Group Members
Professor Charlotte Williams

Charlotte Williams is Professor of Catalysis and Polymer Chemistry. Her group is multidisciplinary and currently consists of 4 postdocs, 11 PhD students and 1 MSc student. Research in polymer chemistry within her group includes the synthesis of polymerisation catalysts, controlled polymerisations, catalytic activation of renewable resources, synthesis of biodegradable and biocompatible polymers for applications in medicine and the synthesis of electroactive polymers for applications in electronics.

She was worked at Imperial since 2003 (2003-7: Lecturer; 2007-9: Senior Lecturer; 2009-2012: Reader; 2012: Professor). Before this, she was a postdoctoral research associate at Cambridge University, working with Professor Andrew Holmes and Professor Richard Friend on the synthesis of electroactive polymers, and at the University of Minnesota, working with Marc Hillmyer and Bill Tolman in zinc catalysis. She did her PhD research at Imperial College in catalysis working with Vernon Gibson and Nick Long. 

She has been recognised for her research by the BEPS Oustanding Early Career Academic Award 2011, the RSC Energy, Environment and Sustainability Award (2009), the Meldola Medal (2005) and the Young Researcher Award (2001).

Charlotte Williams
Post Doctoral Researchers
Dr Jenni Garden   Dr Charles Romain Charles Romain
Synthesis and design of catalysts for carbon dioxide polymerisation.  

New catalysts for preparation of polyesters and polycarbonates from biorenewable resources.

Dr Prabhjot‎ Saini Prabhjot‎ Saini   Dr Anish Cyriac Anish Cyriac
Synthesis of catalysts for carbon dioxide polymerisation.  

Catalysts for copolymers.

Dr Seb Pike Seb Pike   Dr Andrés Garcia Trenco Andrés Garcia Trenco
Development of Cu, ZnO and mixed metal nanoparticles for use as CO2 + H2 to methanol catalysts.  

Postmodification of biodegradable polyesters and polycarbonates.

PhD Students
Jonathan Weiner Yoni Weiner   Arnaud Thevenon Arnaud Thevenon

Development of novel Cu, ZnO and hybrid nanoparticles as catalysts for the reduction of CO2 to liquid fuel.


Synthesis of catalysts for carbon dioxide polymerisation.

Matt Allinson Matt Allinson   Rachel Brooks Rachel Brooks
Organozinc precursors for inorganic/organic hybrid electronics devices.  

Development and study of renewable polymers for packaging materials.

Jameel Marafie Jameel Marafie   Dom Myers Dom Myers

The synthesis and colour tuning of organometallic complexes and polymers for OLEDs.


New catalysts and polymers for iso-selective ring-opening polymerisation of rac-lactide.

Yunqing Zhu Yunqing Zhu   Shyeni Paul Shyeni Paul
Synthesis of block polyester via ring-opening co-polymerisation.  

Synthesis of catalysts for carbon dioxide polymerisation.

Charlie Coleman Charlie Coleman   Gemma Trott Gemma Trott
New redox active M(II) and M(III) catalysts for the iso-selective ring-opening polymerisation of rac-lactide.  

Synthesis of catalysts for carbon dioxide polymerisation.

Alice Leung Alice Leung   Ni Yi Ni Yi
Development and synthesis of Cu/ZnO colloidal nanoparticles from organometallic precursors for the reduction of CO2 to fuel components.  

Synthesis of polymers for biomedical applications.

MRes Students
Dom Wood     Tom Widdows  
Past Group Members

PhD Students

Jenny Donaghey   Rachel Platel
Tom Wells   Hugo Bronstein
Katherine Orchard   Anita Haider
Linda Hodgson   Stuart Oram
Jonathan Harris     


Colin Keyworth   John Shaw
Fabian Jutz   Aranzazu Gonzales Campo
Antoine Buchard   Paul Knight
Neil Brown   Pimpa Hornirun
Sven Horst   Mike Kember
Clare Bakewell   Valentin Poirier
Junjuda Unruangsri    

Visiting Academics

Sittichoke Tabthong   Prof. Mike Haaf
Phuong Ahn Thi Cao   Antoine Buchard
Joe Fritsch    

Masters Students

Thanit Montrikittiphant   Vicky Ma
James Copley   Sarah Kirchhecker
Gabriele Uliana   Jenny Donaghey
Angharad Edwards   Ashkan Salamat
Catherine Rix   Pippa Chalk
Yuxin Chen   Andrew Hall
Chloe Lianos    

Erasmus and UROP students

Mark Bispinghoff   Xinning Yin
Marie-Line Bousquet   Matthias Winkler
Daniel Beh