Awards and Activities in Chemistry






Awards and Activities in chemistry


Past members

Rosalind Franklin International Lecturer Programme

Ph. D. studentships

Industrial Collaborators


1990: Meldola Medal awarded by the Royal Society of Chemistry.

1993: Zeneca Award for Organic Chemistry.

1997/8: Hickinbottom Fellowship awarded by the Royal Society of Chemistry.

1999/0: Novartis Chemistry Lectureship.

2003: First winner of the Rosalind Franklin Award awarded by The Royal Society.

General Activities

General activities within the scientific community include:

1991-93: Secretary of the 'Organic Synthesis Workshop' for young chemists held annually at Gregynog in mid Wales.

1992: UK organiser of an SERC/NSF Workshop on 'Organometallics in Organic Synthesis' held at Loch Lomond.

1992-1997: Editorial Board of Contemporary Organic Synthesis.

1998-2002: Editorial Board of Perkin Transactions 1.

2003: present Perkin Division Council, The Royal Society of Chemistry.

1999-2002: Scientific Affairs Board, The Royal Society of Chemistry

1993; : 8th EPSRC/DTI Link Asymmetric Synthesis Management Committee

1995: present: EPSRC Synthetic and Biological Chemistry College.

1997-present: Royal Society Dorothy Hodgkin Research Fellowship Panel

2001-present: Member of EC COST action D24 (Sustainable Chemical Processes) Management Committee.

2001-present: Editorial Board of Chemistry - A European Journal.

2003-present: Member of EPSRC Council